A – Anachronism

In trying to decide what to write about for the A-Z Challenge, I decided to write about The Middle Ages – either the original time period or The Current Middle Ages.

Twenty-four years ago this summer, my youngest daughter and I joined an organization called The Society for Creative Anachronism.
A lot of people wonder “What is an anachronism?”
An anachronism is something that does not belong in the current time.
I like to compare it to the De Lorean in 1955.
Another example is The Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.
Both were out of their time period.
I tell people there are two definitions of the SCA:
1. The intellectual definition – It is a non-profit, educational organization dedicated to researching, recreating, and attempting to preserve the arts and sciences of the Middle Ages.
2. The fun definition – It’s a group of people who dress in funny clothes and hit each other over the head with sticks.
If you were to visit one of the Society’s events, you should not see anything that you wouldn’t have seen in Western Europe prior to 1603.
There are some acceptable exceptions such as:
Eyeglasses, Footwear, Showers
And transportation (however, modern conveyances inside the campgrounds at events is frowned upon.)
You can drink coffee or soda, but you are requested to drink them from a ‘period’ looking vessel. The most popular drinks at an SCA event are mead and wine.
The SCA was incorporated May 1, 1966 in Berkley, CA. and has divided the Known World into nineteen kingdoms worldwide.

8 responses to “A – Anachronism

  1. Wow. I had no idea that there was an organization that did this! I bet it’s a ton of fun to go camping and experience that time period.

  2. I have several friends who have been in SCA at various times, but I’ve never gone. Too busy in the modern world, I guess. Sounds like great fun, though.

  3. The SCA sounds similar to a medieval or Renaissance fair. Fun!

  4. One of the best weekends in my life was spent at an SCA event in 1991, the weekend war between Borealis and Lionsgate. I took a healding class among other things. I also met a witch. she taught me a few things about people.. I’ll never forget it.

Leave a Reply

