C – Chivalry

When I thought about a ‘C’ word for the Middle Ages, I immediately thought of chivalry. We hear a lot about it, but what does it mean.
I remember walking back to my tent at one SCA camping event carrying a small basket with my toiletries in it. Suddenly, it was taken from my hand by a young man who carried it the rest of the way. Now this basket was small and light, and it was no problem for me to carry it. But, I was a lady, and he was a gentleman.
A few months ago, I was cleaning out a box of stuff I’d had in my storage unit and came across this poem I wrote years ago – so many years, I’d forgotten I wrote it.

What Chivalry Means to Me
A little boy sat reading
A tale of days of old
Of fierce and fearsome dragons
And knights so brave and bold.

He looked up at his mother
With eyes so bright and keen
“Mother what is this word here?
What does chivalry mean?”

Now mothers, as we all know,
Are always smart and wise.
But this one looked down at her son
With very puzzled eyes

“Well, I’ll tell you what let’s do” she said.
“Let’s see what Wesbter has to say
About this word chivalry
And what it means today.”

She went over to the bookshelf
Took down a book with care
Opened it to the proper page
And read what was written there.

“Admirable qualities”
Is what the dictionary said
“Like courage and courtesy”
The mother also read.

“Is that all it means?”
The child asked with a frown
“It seems so much more grander
When you see it written down.”

“Well, let’s think about it
It must mean more than this.
Let’s think of all the things we can
And add them to the list.”

“I know, there’s truth,” the young lad said
“You should not tell a lie.”
“What of honor and integrity?”
The mother did reply.

“Oh, yes, those should be on our list.
They’re good qualities it’s true.
And charitable, helpful, selfless…”
The list just grew and grew.

So now I have an answer
To give that’s proud and true
The next time someone asks me
“What does chivalry mean to you?”

6 responses to “C – Chivalry

  1. Thank you so much for your sweet comment and for passing my blog onto friends 🙂

    That poem is amazing! I loved it! You are a very talented writer! Thank you for such a lovely post and for making me shiver 🙂

  2. Love that poem! So good. I definitely think you could get that published. I always loved hearing about chivalry as a kid. I still enjoy a show of chivalry here and there, but sometimes it is all too lacking.

    I’m your co-host for the A-to-Z! If you didn’t get an email from me the other day, it may have gone in your spam box. Please feel free to contact me via my profile or reply to that email if you need anything or have any questions.

    Shannon at The Warrior Muse, co-host of the 2012 #atozchallenge! Twitter: @AprilA2Z

  3. That’s a great poem! It seems that chivalry is something not found often in today’s society. I think courtesy and respect sum up the word well.

  4. I love your theme for the challenge. I am a history nut and especially love anything about the middle ages or ancient history. Your poem is lovely, thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Love the poem! I must remember to talk to my children about chivalry.

Leave a Reply

