Summer Solstice Hop

This is an excerpt from Catriona’s Curse. Not much romance in this scene I’m afraid. The speaker is my main character, Matthew Sunshine Nelson a/k/a Sunny.

June 21
After church, the whole family gathered at Mom and Dad’s house. The adults spent the day lounging around the pool watching the kids play until Dad fired up the grill and cooked some steak and chicken kabobs and roasted some corn in the husks.

Although the family was active in the Methodist Church and attended services regularly, Mom still semi-observes the Pagan holidays. In keeping with the celebration of Litha or the Summer Solstice, she marinated the meat for the kabobs in thyme and chamomile. The tossed salad contained rose petals, and there was a fresh fruit salad with a lemon-flavored dressing. She also prepared fresh green beans with thyme, basil, and fennel.
On each wall of the room a sconce held a different colored candle, yellow for Air in the east, red for Fire in the south, blue for Water in the west, and green for Earth on the north. So even though Mom hadn’t cast an official circle and didn’t follow the complete ritual of Litha, as she lit the candles, there was a feeling of peace and protection.
I remembered when I was a kid and friends ate with us, they often remarked on the strange flavorings Mom used. We lost a lot of possible friends over the years because other parents were afraid for their kids to come to our house.

23 responses to “Summer Solstice Hop

  1. I look forward to reading this book!
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  2. Happy solstice! Thanks for sharing the excerpt =)

  3. Sounds like a good read! cheryllynne(at)rocketmail(dot)com

  4. sounds like a great read HOP!!!!!

  5. great excerpt. I love the detail. 🙂 Happy Solstice!

  6. Sounds like a good book AT!

  7. Oh, I love those family traditions, even if the set the neighbors off 😉

  8. Interesting excerpt!

  9. I look forward to reading the book.

  10. Interesting excerpt. I’d very much like to read what happens.

    THanks!
    rae.gwendy(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. Thanks for the excerpt. Want to read more

  12. Sunny’s household sounds like the “cool” house. I’m not sure why parents wouldn’t want their kids there.

  13. Wow, what a relaxing scene setter!

  14. Happy Solstice!

  15. Thank you for sharing a little bit of your book. The rose petal thing sounds weird, but I was recently watching a cooking show with my mom and they had the contestants use it in their food. I would have never guessed that flower petals were edible though.

    • A lot of flower petals are edible. I belong to a group that recreates the Middle Ages. We’ve often had flowers in our salads. You just have to be careful of how they are grown. Roses, Pansies, Petunias, Nasturtiums are all good to eat. Also, you can make tea from rose hips.

      I used to work with a young woman who made fun of me eating flowers. I’d tell her it was healthier than eating at McDonald’s every day – which she did.

  16. Great excerpt.

  17. thank you for the sneak peek and Happy Solstice

  18. Thank you for sharing. That food sounds so yummy that you made me hungry! 😉
    trb0917 at gmail.com

  19. Sounds great! Thanks for sharing and for the fun hop! And thank you for the awesome giveaway!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. Happy Solstice. Enjoyed the excerpt. It reminded me that just last week, my sister-in-law was telling me about some of my brothers failed kitchen experiments, where he got a little free & happy with the spices & the meal ended up inedible. lol

    @drainbamagedgyz

Leave a Reply

