Second Glances or Shifter

I need to work on Shifter, but the kids from Second Glances keep talking to me.

Plus, a friend keeps sending me books for my Kindle.

Can’t seem to hear Marrok over Mike.

From Mike’s story:

The doorbell rang Friday evening about a week later. Mike dried his hands from the dishwater and opened the door. A good-looking blond man stood there. He was dressed in an expensive navy blue suit with a light blue shirt and a striped tie.

“My name’s Erik. May I come in?”

Mike stared at him for a few seconds then opened the door wider and stepped back. He led the way to the living room and motioned for Erik to have a seat.

“He’s hurting, too,” Erik said as he sat on the couch.

Mike snorted. “But he has you to kiss away the hurt.”

“He’s hurting, you’re hurting and I’m terrified.” Fear was evident in Erik’s blue eyes.

“Terrified? Why?” Mike asked.

“I’m terrified that he’ll choose you. He loves you.”

“I thought he did. Now I don’t know.”

“Do you love him?” Erik asked.

“That’s a moot point. He’s in a relationship with you.”

“He said he told you about what we discussed?”

“About a three-way? Yeah, he did,” Mike snorted again. “I told him no way in Hell.”

“Not even on a trial basis?” Erik asked.

“What kind of trial basis?” Mike asked skeptically.

“We have a three-day weekend coming up. Come spend it with us. No sex unless you want it. Just get to know each other.”

“I thought I already knew Brian. I guess I was wrong.”

Erik shook his head. “No, you know him. You now how kind and gentle he is. What a good lover he is. Come get to know me. You might like me, too.”

They stared at each other.

“Do I have to answer now?” Mike asked.

“No. Think about it,” Erik said. “Here’s my phone number. Let me know.”

“I have Brian’s number.”

“I’d rather Brian not know I came here. If you decide not to come, we’ll forget I was ever here. If, on the other hand, you decide to come, it will be a surprise for him.”

“A good or bad surprise? Mike asked.

“I think he’d be very happy.”

They walked to the door.

“I’ll let you know,” Mike said.

Leave a Reply

