Sex in M/M romance

Yesterday there was a big bru-ha-ha on Facebook about a reader who posted a 1-star rating on Goodreads based on one paragraph in an unfinished novel. Now I don’t often check my reviews on Goodreads after an incident a few months ago, but decided to have a look. I guess I am going to have to stop labeling my books as M/M because people equate that genre with a lot of sex.

Note this from a review of First Impressions Don’t Count:

Also, another little issue that I have with this story was that it doesn’t have sex scenes because Jesse and Dave don’t believe in anal sex or any kind of penetration.
I know that according to the statistics 1 out of 3 gay couples don’t practice this kind of sex, but I’m always hopping that when I purchased a M/M romance, it will be about the other 2 guys from this equation, so, nope no sex scenes at all
The plot wasn’t flawless by far, but I don’t regret read it.

The way I see things, it is possible to have ‘plot related sex’ in which the sex is secondary to the story; or you can have ‘sex related plot’ in which sex is the story and anything else is secondary. Call me old-fashioned if you like, but I prefer the first concept. For a while, I went along with the ultra-descriptive sex scenes. But I like my stories to be more realistic. One book I read had the men engaging in anal sex four or five times a day – sorry, folks, but someone is not going to be able to sit down.

 

2 responses to “Sex in M/M romance

  1. Heh. I just read a review of one of my recent releases that pointed out there was no graphic on-page sex and they were disappointed “because that’s why I buy these books.”

    Our genre has become perverted by the continuing inclusion of lots and lots of graphic sex. I happen to think it’s boring as hell reading Tab A, Slot B sex over and over and over again.

    If readers are looking for pure sex, they should buy erotica. They should not yell at writers who decide not to include sex scenes in their m/m book. It disturbs me that the m/m genre is now equated with erotica. 😦

    • My point exactly. I got talked into graphic sex starting with my third book. With the last one, I went to behind closed doors. See You in the Morning is a ‘love’ story, not a sex story.

Leave a Reply

