My Two Cents Worth

MCC NetworkThere’s been a lot of discussion lately about differences of opinions between authors and the people who read our books.

Those of us who write LGBT books are being criticized for a couple of things.

First off, we are told our e-books should be free. I’ll admit there are some out there that even at free are not worth the price. But there are also a lot of good books that are not selling.

So we come to the second point. The readers want to tell us what to write. If there isn’t explicit, erotic sex, they don’t want to read it. And most of them don’t even know what constitutes gay sex.

It has reached the point where I expect the dictionary to list ‘erotica’ as a synonym for ‘romance’ any day now.

I had one reader complain because one of my early books didn’t have any anal sex in it. I’m sorry. I think that is because a large portion of readers of M/M books are straight women who have the mistaken idea that anal sex is all gay men do. The fact is over 1/3 of gay men don’t engage in anal sex at all. I even had one author tell me that any gay man who says he doesn’t, is lying.

The books where two men engage in anal sex on every other page are just not believable, and a lot of M/M writers are trying to get away from this type of writing.

I try to follow two quotes in my writing:

“This above all to thine own self be true.” – Wm Shakespeare

“Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.” Cyril Connolly (1903-1974)

No, I’ll never be rich from writing. I don’t even make enough to have to file Income Taxes since I don’t sell enough to have taxable income. But, I write what I believe in. If readers don’t like it, I’m sorry. But I want my books (even paranormal and fantasy) to be believable.

 

Leave a Reply

