Daily Archives: May 15, 2017

The Adventures of Damien and Drew – Chapter three

Chapter three

Damien sat on his Harley in the alley behind the steak house and waited for Drew.

The neon signs and inside lights went off, and Drew came out with two other men.

Damien could see the slight glow from one of them that only another shifter could see. This was Bush. No time to lose.

Drew walked toward Damien.

“Sorry, Drew. You need to wait a few minutes. I’ll be right back.” He sent a silent call to Captain Willis as he dismounted from the bike. I have him. Come and get him.

Bush started running. He got to the street and shifted into wolf form.

Damien morphed into dragon form and flew after the wolf.

Bush dodged and ran between two cars.

Damien followed. As Bush emerged into the open, Damien swooped down.

Bush ducked under a high-wheeled pickup and lay there panting heavily.

Damien landed beside the truck. He ducked his head and a stream of fire spread under the truck.

Bush scurried out the other side and took off again.

Damien took flight. About half a block down the street, Damien swooped down and caught the wolf in his claws.

Bush twisted and tried to grab Damien’s leg in his mouth.

“Oh, no, you don’t.” Damien clamped harder with his claws sending two of them deep into the wolf’s spine.

Bush howled in pain and went limp.

Damien dropped the wolf and landed beside it morphing as he landed.

Police cars roared down the street with their sirens screaming, and came to a stop with their lights shining on the body of the wolf.

The wolf shifted into human.

Damien grabbed him and pulled his arms behind him. “Shifting isn’t going to help you. You may heal, but I have you.”

Chief Keller came up to Damien. “What’s going on?”

“I just caught my bad guy.”

“I think I’m dreaming. Was that a wolf? And what happened to the dragon?”

“He’s a wolf shifter. He killed his mate and her litter of pups because the pups weren’t his.” Damien took a stronger hold on Bush. “As to the dragon, maybe you need your eyes checked.”

Keller looked from Damien to Bush and back. “What am I supposed to do with him?”

“Nothing. I’ll take care of him. He’ll face the Council of Shifters.”

Two dragons appeared overhead. One red and the other black. The red one landed beside Damien and morphed into an older man.

“Good work, Damien. We’ll take him from here.” Captain Willis pulled a shining rope out of his jacket and wound it around Bush. “He won’t get out of this.”

Bush screamed. “Not silver. Please no silver.”

“Don’t worry. It won’t touch your skin unless you fight it. He morphed back into dragon form, took the rope in his claws, and the two dragons flew off.

“Okay. I don’t know what’s going on here, and I’m not sure I want to,” Chief Keller said.

“Just think, you don’t need to fill out any paperwork.” Damien turned and walked back to where Drew stood beside the Harley. He opened a saddle bag, took out a bottle of water, and poured it over his hands rinsing the wolf’s blood from his fingers. Straddling the bike, he took a helmet off the handlebars and handed it to Drew.

Drew stared at him for a couple of seconds. “What the Hell just happened?”

Damien smiled. “You can come with me, and I’ll explain later. That way, you’ll remember everything that you just saw. Or, you can stay here and not remember anything.”

“How would I forget?”

“The same way the Chief and everyone else who’s here will. My boss has already altered their memories.”

“How?”

“That’s something else I’ll explain later. Ready?”

“Ready for what.”

“An adventure.”

Drew looked around at the others. “Why not?” He took the helmet, placed it on his head, and straddled the bike behind Damien.

“Hold on tight.”

Damien morphed into dragon form and pulled the motorcycle close to his stomach.

Don’t be afraid; you’re perfectly safe. I’ll drop the bike before I let you fall.

“How can I hear you?”

I can’t talk in this form, but I can transmit my thoughts.

The flight lasted about an hour.

Damien became human again as he landed in front of a large log house in the middle of a bunch of pine trees.

Drew looked around and grinned. “You promised an adventure. I wasn’t expecting this.”

Damien put his hands on Drew’s waist and pulled him closer. “What did you expect?”

“I’m not sure.”

“Maybe this?” Damien leaned in and claimed Drew’s lips in a kiss.

“Mmmm.” Drew melted into the kiss.

Damien released his mouth, took his hand, and led him into the house.

